top of page


New Light Baptist Church, “The Light on the Hill,” seeks to be a catalyst for positive transformation in the lives of all people by allowing God’s light to shine through us everywhere we go. We seek to be a “church on assignment,” following the example of our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ, by practicing: Radical Hospitality, Passionate Worship, Intentional Faith Development, Risk-Taking Mission and Service, and Extravagant Generosity.


"Then Jesus came to them and said, “All authority in heaven and on earth has been given to me. Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, and teaching them to obey everything I have commanded you. And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.”
(Matthew 28:18–20, TNIV)


The history of our church began in the Macedonia  Baptist Church, which was located at 22 E. Main Street. After a disagreement between the pastor and part of the congregation, some of the members decided to leave. These members, led by Rev. Mort Jackson, established their first place of worship in October 1934 at 1821 E. Main Street.  One of the charter members and a deacon of the church, Addison Royster, is credited for naming the church "New Light."

On October 4, 1947, approximately 13 years after being united by God, the congregation moved with their pastor at that time, Rev. Daniel Williams, to the old Trinity Methodist Church. The church was purchased from the Church of God for $13,000. Designed by Richmond architect, Robert L. West, in what his contemporaries described as "Italian-styled," the original cost of the church was $35,000.

God has truly blessed the New Light family through His faithful servants: Rev. Mort Jackson (1934-1942); Rev. L.M. Bray, Rev. Daniel Williams, Rev. John Williams, Rev. Roy Clark (1957-1970); Rev. Keel; Rev. Floyd Davis (1978-1979); Rev. Michael V. Kelsey Sr. (1981-1986); Rev. Dr. Verlin D. Williams (1987-1994), Rev. Dr. Walter L. Smith, Jr. (1996-2006) and Rev. Dr. Vernon J. Hurte (2010-2017).

bottom of page